National currency day

Kazakhstan emerged from the ruble zone as one of the last countries of the former Soviet Union. The national currency of Kazakhstan was put into circulation on November 15, 1993 in the ratio of 1 tenge – 500 rubles of the USSR. The name “tenge” comes from the medieval Turkic silver coins “dengue” or “tanga”, from which came the name of the Russian coin “money” and the word money itself. Modern tenge continued the tradition of the largest cities of medieval Kazakhstan, Otrar and Taraz, where they began to mint their own coins in the 13th century.The first money of sovereign Kazakhstan was stamped by the oldest English company Harrison and Sons. Own banknote factory opened in the country in 1995. Today, the Kazakhstan tenge, with 18 degrees of protection, is one of the most protected currencies in the world. At present, banknotes in denomination are in circulation on the territory of Kazakhstan: banknotes – 200, 500, 1000, 2000, 5000 and 10000 tenge; coins – 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 tenge.